Neil Gunn Writing Competition 2021/22

Neil Gunn Writing Competition logo

The 2021/22 Neil Gunn Writing Competition is now closed for entries.

Judging will take place in March and April with final placings decided in May.  All winners will be contacted, so if entrants don’t hear anything by the end of May it will be safe to assume that your entry was not given an award this time.

The lead judge is distinguished author and patron of the Neil Gunn Trust, James Robertson.

Contact us for more information

For all enquiries about the competition that are not answered by the rules or entry form, please email [email protected] or telephone the Library Support Unit on 01349 781340.

The Neil Gunn Trust gratefully acknowledges the financial assistance provided by individual supporters and the following organisations:  The Highland Council Wards 5 and 8, the Dr David Summers Trust and the Lydia Michael Trust.

Further information on the work of the Neil Gunn Trust can be found at


High Life Highland The Lydia Michael Trust logo The Highland Council